Complaints

Just to let everyone know, Bath Planet is a franchise organization. Not all BP franchises do bad work. Most in fact do excellent work and stand behind every issue by coming back & making sure everything is perfectly acceptable to the customer before moving on. In southern California, my wife & I took over a BP franchise that had not been doing well and had numerous complaints and bad reviews. After we took over, we completely turned it around. It was a learning experience for both my wife & myself. We even sent myself and several employees to Chicago for specific Bath Planet training on materials, tools and installation methods. After we began taking on work, we experienced some bumps in the roads along the way with some of our first installations, but we always came back and made sure our customers were 100% happy with the end results. We lost money. We made personnel changes. We hired, fired and rehired until we had the best installers. We gave additional discounts to make up for the added time for return visits to fix any issues. In the end, we earned great reviews and now have countless happy customers. I speak only for MY own BP franchise, and I know that BCI, the parent company would not allow poor franchise workmanship to continue without taking some kind of action against them. Thank you.
View full review
ID
#925836 Review #925836 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California
Bath Planet's reply to:

Shower enclosure

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#924211 Review #924211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Price quote
  • Poor quality
Reason of review
Bad quality

We paid almost $5000 for a shower enclosure from Bath Planet. Ridiculous price "shame on us" We would have done better buying a shower enclosure at Depot for less then half the price.

Within the first year 1/2 ( poor caulking, Door handles stripped and became loose, under liner plastic fell off and needed to be replaced, flooring became soft where you can feel the bottom of the floor where they overlaid the shower cover.....today it still leaks after a shower water runs out to floor. Magnet that closes door stripped of coating, now it just bare metal...We had 2 service calls months after installations and we finally gave up. Poor quaity, poor design, poor workmenship, poor customer service. With a $75 charge for service calls we would have spend a small fortune repairing all theses issues.

Today trying to fiqure out how to fix the loose shower door handle.... to avoid a $75.00 service call to replace a small screw of which they can't even tell us what screw to buy or type of tool we need to repair it.

Consumer be aware.

Bath Planet's reply to:

STAY AWAY FROM ANYBODY SELLING ARCRYLIC BATHLINERS WITH BATH PLANET AT THE TOP OF THAT LIST

Our Central Arizona dealer has repeatedly tried to contact Mr. Everett via the phone number provided to try and understand and resolve the issues in this complaint. We apologize to Mr. Everett, but unfortunately neither his name, email, or phone number is in our Central Arizona dealer's database so we don't believe that Mr. Everett even contracted with us. If he used a different name or phone number please call our Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen so we can make you 100% satisfied.
ID
#916339 Review #916339 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor quality
  • Will not stand behind installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Exactly one year ago, I had two bathrooms remodeled using a Bath Planet subcontractor representing their company. Several weeks ago, my wife noticed our laminate flooring on the exterior wall of the remodeled shower looking funny. I pressed my foot against it and "SQUISH".

The floor clearly had standing water under it and appears to have been getting worse over time. I start by calling the Bath Planet installer only to find they were out of business - BIG SURPRISE.

I call another general contractor to come identify the leak and discover the *** plumbing performed had been leaking inside of my wall for nearly a year creating a serious mold issue, ruining my laminate flooring, and discovering the Bath Planet *** installers used plain silicone to attach the acrylic garbage liner to my old tile and it was slowly coming loose to the point my new general contractor showed me strips he literally pulled off the wall due to degradation.

So, I've now paid twice to have a shower remodeled in one year with the second time being done with beautiful tile and accents for less than I paid for a cheap *** product sold as the next "whiz-bang" solution to your bathroom remodel problem. More importantly, I have a second bathroom which I will not let my family use due to fear it will fall apart.

Long story short, rather just remodeling a shower after paying twice I could have remodeled my entire bathroom.

Bath Planet DOES NOT stand behind anything other than their cheap acrylic liners which simply don't hold up, gather mold, and honestly look CHEAP after being installed.

Save a bit more money, find a real company that stands behind their work, and fix your bathroom with TILE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Resolved
Bath Planet's reply to:

Resolved: BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED

We appreciate you writing a second post letting us at Bath Planet Corporate know that Bath Planet of Richmond had resolved your concerns. We are happy to hear that you are more than satisfied.
ID
#907194 Review #907194 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Being lied to
Reason of review
PRICING, DEFECTIVE MATERIAL, BAD QUALITY
Loss
$9068
Preferred solution
THEY CAN EMAIL ME. DON'T CALL. WE WILL PROCEED FROM THERE.
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Update by user Sep 20, 2016

Still waiting for a response from PC to tell me why my letter did not meet the requirements. No response from e-mail or phone call thus far. I will try to keep an update until this post is removed.

Regards

Update by user Sep 19, 2016

I am submitting an update concerning the removal of this post. I have sent a notarized letter stating; what I thought was the required information for removal but, PC says that my letter does not meet the requirements.

I am confused. At the present time I am awaiting their response.

I have called (262)674-6446 this morning for advise on what information I provided that is incorrect, or what I need to provide to put an end to this post. Regards

Update by user Sep 15, 2016

I am no longer pissed. I am pleased with the corrections thus far.

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

The picture of the drain is not the updated drain which was replaced.

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

I am also going to request removal of my post. Thanks again!

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

Thank you, Mr. J.S for being so diligent resolving my concerns. I have submitted photo's for future customers to see the improvements.

Original review posted by user Aug 25, 2016

LET ME BEGIN BY SAYING I HAVE BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE HOSPITAL FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS THUS THE LONG DELAY MAKING A COMPLAINT. THE WORK WAS DONE IN AUGUST OF 2013.

I CALLED TO HAVE MY BATHROOM DONE BECAUSE MY TOILET TANK WAS LEAKING MAKING THE TOILET START SINKING. I DECIDED SINCE THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACE THE SUB-FLOOR I WOULD GET THEM TO REPAIR OTHER ISSUES IN MY SMALL BATHROOM. GRANTED THE BATHROOM WAS A DISASTER. ANY TYPE OF REPAIRS MADE IT LOOK BETTER.

I ALSO HAD THEM INSTALL A WINDOW. I LOVE HOW IT BRIGHTENED THE ROOM. THERE WERE LOTS OF RED FLAGS, BUT I IGNORED THEM. I KNEW BETTER.

IT STARTED WITH THE ROTTEN WOOD WINDOW FRAME. I COMPLAINED SO IT WAS REPLACED BY A FRAME CUT FROM CHEAP WOOD. THE WOOD STARTED SPLITTING I COMPLAINED. IT WAS AGAIN REPLACED WITH CHEAP WOOD THAT IS SPLITTING.

SO THEY CAME AND CAULKED THE CRACKS AND OTHER AREAS THAT HAVE GAPS. THEN THE VINYL FLOORING STARTED BLOWING UP LIKE A BALOON AROUND THE VENT BECAUSE NO ADHESIVE WAS APPLIED. THEY CAME AND ADDED IT. THE VENT COVER IS RUSTING.

THE SHOWER DRAIN IS RUSTING. WHAT YOU SEE IS THE REPLACEMENT FOR THE ORIGINAL ONE. I PRICED IT AT LOWES FOR LESS THAN $2.OO. I HAD A SEAT AND A BAR ADDED TO MY WALK-IN SHOWER BECAUSE I HAVE MS.

THE FIRST TIME I SAT ON THE SEAT I SLID OFF. THANK GOD THE BAR WAS THERE BECAUSE, I WAS SLIPPING ON THE SHOWER FLOOR THEY INSTALLED. WHEN I TOLD THE MANAGER HE SAID THE SEAT WAS SLANTED SO THE WATER COULD RUNOFF, AND I SHOULD PUT DOWN A MAT SO I WOULD NOT SLIP AGAIN. MY DUMB SELF PAID THEM OVER $9000.00 FOR CHEAP MATERIAL AND LOW-GRADE WORK.

I LOOKED UP THE MATERIAL PRICES AT LOEWS. I DON'T THINK THE MATERIAL AND PARTS THEY INSTALLED WERE MORE THAN $2OOO.OO IF THAT. I DON'T KNOW WHERE THE A+ BBB RATING CAME FROM OR THE WONDERFUL TESTIMONIES. I THINK IT WAS FELLOW EMPLOYEES AND RELATIVES.

THEY WILL LEARN THAT THEY PICKED THE WRONG ONE TO PULL THIS MESS ON.I AM RETIRED NOW, I HAVE NOTHING BUT TIME ON MY HANDS. I PLAN TO CONTACT HOME ADVISERS, ANGIES LIST,BBB, AARP AND, SIT ON THE BENCH IN FRONT OF THEIR BOOTH IN THE MALL SO I CAN GIVE MY TESTIMONY AND SHARE PHOTOS. AFTER SEEING THE PHOTOS DPOR SUGGESTED CIVIL COURT. AAPCO HAS 2 BOOTHS AT THE COUNTY FAIR STARTING TOMORROW.

I THINK I'LL GIVE MY TESTIMONY THERE AND SHARE PHOTOS. OUR LOCAL NEWS ALSO LIKES TO WARN OTHERS ABOUT COMPANIES SUCH AS THIS. FOR THE PRICE I SUPPLIED MY OWN TOILET AND SINK. ALSO, THERE WAS NO PAINT JOB.

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO OF THE DRAIN AND WINDOW FRAME. I HAVE MORE PHOTOS. I FORGOT TO MENTION THE CAULKING IN THE SHOWER. ALTHOUGH EVERYONE WAS VERY NICE; I WOULD NOT TRUST THEM WORTH A DARN.

THE SALESMAN WAS EXCEPTIONAL AT WHAT HE DOES I'LL GIVE HIM THAT.

THEY MESSED WITH THE WRONG ONE THIS TIME. I AM FURIOUS!

5 comments
Ishaq
#1215018

UPDATE..

My notarized letter was not accepted by PC. I was advised that it did not meet the needed requirements.

I called (262) 674-6446 for assistance because I thought I provided all the requested information.

Because I am confused, I am waiting for the return call so I can make whatever corrections are needed for the prompt removal of this post. Regards

Anonymous
#1213869

On 9/10/16 P C received my notarized letter requesting complete removal of this post by certified, return receipt mail. Until the request is fulfilled, I am again stating that my post is no longer valid or relevant.

Anonymous
#1211665

On 9/8/16 I submitted the required documents to have this post removed. My issues with this branch of Bath Planet are resolved at this time.

My complaint against this company is no longer valid or relevant.

Anonymous
#1205435

Comparing a product not purchased from lowes to what you're whining about is like comparing a used Toyota Camry to a New Lexus. Use what's left of your brain to answer jeopardy questions before you report people to AARP.

LOL'! Get a life you dimwit.

Anonymous
#1206390
@PissedConsumer1205435

Thank you for saying I should use what's left of my brain. I appreciate that, I thought it was all gone....What's Jeopardy???

Oh yeah, I don't want to use the rest of my brain to figure it out. Again, thank you for taking the time to think so highly of me...

From a Jaguar driver,

Ms. Dimwit (smooches)

p.s Bath Planet and I are resolving our issues.

What about yours? Stay tuned.

View more comments (4)
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet- upset customer.

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding our dealer's Design Consultant not being able to provide you specific answers to your questions. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve your issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#896418 Review #896418 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$6700

The sales person lied, again and again. Anything that came after was confirmed with the person that came take the measurement and the crew that performed the job.

He did not have any knowledge, the quote was so overestimated. It is not a seamless design, drainage would be overlooked if I did not watch closely how the team was performing the job. The high end shower head and hand shower is the cheapest quality that can be found The Shower door, they wanted initially to charge me for $1300, is one of the cheapest thing I've ever seen. they ended up giving it away for free once I've threatened to go to court to discuss about all these issue.

I am disappointed beyond belief about the disconnect of the display at their showroom, the sales speech, and the end product. If you ever want to go with these folks anyway, make sure that all the details that were discussed and agreed are fully documented on the contract, so you'll have documented data to argue against.

Bath Planet can install in any bathroom

We used Bath Planet for 2 homes. One built in the 40's, and a farm house listed on the Historical Farm Records, which my great grandfather staked in the run, both 20th century bathrooms and in bad shape. We are so proud of the work that Bath Planet did on both bathrooms and would highly recommend them to anyone thinking of remodeling a bathroom.
View full review
Testimonial

Bath Planet is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#955936 Review #955936 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Review in Home Construction and Repair category from Palm Desert, California

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding the lack of communication from our dealer. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#889660 Review #889660 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Now bath planet will not call us back,what a way to treat a paying customer.

Bath Planet's reply to:

New Homeowner

Thank you for contacting Bath Planet and letting us know your concerns about the installation. Our dealer apologizes for the issues and they have reached out to you to correct the situation. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#878919 Review #878919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I just purchased a home that had recently underwent a bathroom upgrade with a new tub enclosure from Bath Planet. I was the first person to use the new shower/tub enclosure and within just a week noticed it wasn't draining right, the whole tub backing up with water.

I called a plumber and I guess the way that they installed the tub enclosure and fitted it was incorrect with the pipes. After that major fix, a month later I noticed the bottom of my tub seemed like water was filling between the liner covering and old tub. It was like showering on a water bed surface, moving and unstable. I called them and they came out ($50 service call fee each time) and had to do more work to fix it.

Just unhappy with the product - the previous owners spent nearly 9K to have this new bathroom done and I was the first person to use it and within a few weeks to a month all of these problems arose with it. Ridiculous that with a warranty (and it being brand new and just completed!) you still have to pay the service call fees on top of taking off a days work to fit their large window of service call time.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling Review from Simi Valley, California

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding the lack of communication from our dealer. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best customer service in the bath remodeling industry and we apologize that this wasn't your experience. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#877372 Review #877372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Product mix up, failure to call back after work completed by management. Very expensive for what you get. Workers worked hard, not their fault.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Estimate done, chose another company

We apologize that it took longer than expected to get you a written quote. Every bath system we manufacture is custom made so it can take awhile to pick out all of the colors, designs, accessories, styles, and hardware. Our Design Consultant also has to take measurements of your existing tub or shower. We always offer customers who want to contract with us on the first visit an intial visit rewards program, where because they save us time and money to not have to make a second visit, we pass the savings onto the customer if they are ready to start their project. We apologize for it coming across as a hard pressure sales tactic.
ID
#870924 Review #870924 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Variety of walls to choose from for shower
Cons
  • Long estimate
Reason of review
Pricing issue

The literature and salesperson were smooth...but the appointment lasted forever and it was late at night. I felt like they tried to "close" the sale on the spot which made me really uncomfortable.

The estimate was a joke too...written down on a sticky note for $9500...definitely shop around. When I called them back and mentioned my other quotes they automatically dropped it $1000. I think they are shady so there's no way I would hire them. I live in the Midwest US so people typically get deals done on the hood of their truck but asking for 10 grand on a project I could do myself I felt was ludacris.

They kept pushing for a sale too but the dude didn't get a hint so I kicked him out of my house after 3 hours. Don't go with this company...

Thank you for contacting us and letting us know about your concerns regarding our dealer. Our Corporate Office has spoken with the owner of the dealership to help resolve this complaint.
View full review
ID
#863861 Review #863861 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
Bath Planet's reply to:

Can't get any service

We apologize that our request for all homeowners to attend the appointment offended you. We always ask homeowners a number of questions about the scope of their project and what they are trying to achieve to make sure that we are actually able to do the work they are requesting. We would hate to send a Design Consultant out to your home and waste your time if we couldn't do what you were looking for. The only reason we asked that all homeowners attend the appointment is because every one of our bath systems is custom made at our Corporate manufacturing facitily outside Chicago. In order for us to leave you an exact price to the penny in writing, the homeowners have to pick out the colors, styles, designs, accessories, and hardware. From going out on so many free in-home consultations, we know that a number of questions always arise from both homeowners and we want to be able to answer those so each party knows that if you decide to contract with us there are no surprises. Any time we earn someone's business we strive for 100% customer satisfaction from all homeowners, not just the person who attended the appointment. We are sorry that we couldn't earn your business, and will do a better job explaining this to customers in the future.
ID
#860831 Review #860831 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Very sad
Cons
  • Refused service for not including wife in estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I contacted Bath Planet today regarding a free estimate to have some work done on my bathroom. I was asked a series of questions regarding my home and then I was asked about my wife.

I stated my wife would not be available for any appointment because I'm the one that handles all repairs in my home. I was refused an estimate by Bath Planet because I would not set up a time for them to speak to my wife.

My wife is not the person who called nor does she handle any repairs in my home. It is a disservice to a customer when they can't get an estimate because I refuse to set up an appointment to let you speak with my wife.

1 comment
Anonymous
#1200679

In some states it's against the law to have an in-home sales visit without both parties there . Company is most likely just protecting their end and doesn't want to break the law

Bath Planet's reply to:

Worst business I have ever delt with

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#857172 Review #857172 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1000

they did not do what they were supposed to do. they added a shower that was smaller then my existing tub removed my sink and left a big gap where the sink was and the tub was at.

they added a panel that was much taller then the existing tile. my mirror now is over a 5:7 wall. if you are less then 6 feet, you are out of luck. they were supposed to remove the existing tile.

nope they did not do that either.

they forged my spouse's signature to get me approved for a loan. now here we are 6 month after they started the project and the project is still not completed. never, never , so business with these people!

please stay far away from them. the worst contractors ever!

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Customer Care Review from Morro Bay, California

Thank you for writing Bath Planet Corporate to let us know about your concerns regarding the lack of communication from our dealer. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#842710 Review #842710 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Order processing issue

I signed a contract and paid a $5000.00 deposit on 12/7/2015. I'm still waiting for my new bathroom.

I've called several times and asked them to return my call.

When they finally return my call they always have an excuse. My next call will be to my lawyer.

1 comment
Anonymous
#1167512

Curious as to your location. I am in almost exact situation and am out $2000+.

No answers to calls, salesperson I originally talked to says no longer working for company.

When going to location, they say at the gate that we need an appointment (circular argument if I can't get ahold of them). I am located in Bethel Park, PA.

Resolved
Bath Planet's reply to:

Resolved: No return call after appointment with Bath Planet Rep

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding the lack of communication from our Design Consultant and our dealer's staff. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#814926 Review #814926 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
No customer service at all!
Preferred solution
None.

In December 2015, I attended an event at WestWorld in Scottsdale, AZ. There I met Patricia Peters, a rep for Bath Planet, and arranged for a home consultation with one of the estimators for Bath Planet.

Ms. Peters gave me a Five Hundred Dollar coupon off the cost of the walk in tub. He arrived at my home in Scottsdale on 12/15/2015 at 11 a.m., and came in and measured for a walk-in tub in my master bathroom. Very pleasant fellow - but I never heard from him again!

No quote, no phone call, nothing! Strange! Today when I came across Ms. Peters card, I called the 623-388-8899 number on her card.

The receptionist answered the phone like she was in the middle of a fire, mumbled something at warp speed that I couldn't understand and slammed me on "hold." When she finally came back on the line, I laughingly said "If you worked for me and answered my business phone like you just did, I'd fire you." to which she replied "Well, I said...." and repeated the same words that she had just answered the phone with, and I couldn't understand that either! I asked to speak to Ms. Peters, and was put on hold again, and when she came back, she said "She's not answering her phone. Can I take a message?" at which point I gave up and said "No, thanks." I owned a couple of businesses in the PHX area, and if my employees responded to callers like that, I would be very unhappy.

Not a very good way to run a business, in my opinion. And certainly not the way to attract clients!