Bath Planet's reply to:

Shady Business

We apologize that our request for all homeowners to attend the appointment offended you. The only reason we asked that all homeowners attend the appointment is because every one of our bath systems is custom made. In order for us to leave you an exact price to the penny in writing, the homeowners have to pick out all of the colors, styles, designs, accessories, and hardware. In our experience, going out on so many free in-home consultations, we know that a number of questions always arise from both homeowners and we want to be able to answer those so each party knows that if you decide to contract with us there are no surprises. Any time we earn someone's business we strive for 100% customer satisfaction from all homeowners, not just the person who attended the appointment. We are sorry that we couldn't earn your business, and will do a better job explaining this to customers in the future.
ID
#810946 Review #810946 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad vibes

Came across Bath Planet at a Home Show this past weekend. Very friendly informative young man really sold us on their products.

We made app. Then later read reviews from this website and wasn't very happy. But decided to let them come for a 2nd opinion. They called to verify app today March 16, 2016 for tomorrow evening and because I couldn't be home he wanted to reschedule because their policy is they like both spouses to be there!!

Seems shady to me, not a good way to run a business or get clients.

No worries easnt meant to be

Bath Planet's reply to:

Couldn't even get a quote

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding our dealer not being able to run your scheduled appointment. A lot of our dealers call multiple times the day prior to confirm a scheduled appointment for the next day and we have to hear back from the customer to send out a Design Consultant. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve your issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#809324 Review #809324 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Sales person
  • Price quote
  • Whole process
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Scheduled an appointment a month ahead of time. Received a voicemail the evening before the appointment asking to call and confirm.

When I called in the morning to confirm because I was out until 10PM, I was told they overbooked and they would have to reschedule. I said never mind because I want to deal with an organization that keeps their appointments. I was met with a sob story of how they have been so busy and overbooked just like a doctor's office. My doctors don't overbook me.

They apparently realize that my time is valuable, as is theirs. I was called back a half hour later saying they could now keep the appointment, so I said fine, come out.

The man was nice enough, but said he'd follow-up later in the week with an email quote and give us a call. We have not received either, I'm not holding my breath.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Just a bad experience

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#803006 Review #803006 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Bad experience. Asked for tiled panels and received solid panels.

They had already installed so we didn't want the trouble to remove. Asked for brushed nickle and got piece-meal with chrome. Installers made two gouges in wall, left many cigarette butts in the front yard, water leaked from plumbing into main floor ceiling, AND the plumbing is reversed (hot to the right - cold to the left) in the shower and sink. We have called many times to have these issues resolved and keep getting odd reasons they haven't come back out.

Spent quite a bit of money on this and very unhappy with customer service. We should have never paid them in full until we were completely satisfied.

2 comments
Anonymous
#1212033

They will not fix anything until you sue. I used to work for Joe and I can tell you it is company policy tonot do anything ntil absolutely necessary. They only use subcontractors and have to pay them to return and fix any problems even if hey caused them in the first place

Anonymous
#1188949

Hello i am commenting on the gentleman from Massachusetts. I was the service manager for bath planet of ct which is also bath planet of Massachusetts.

THEY ARE THE SAME COMPANY. There is no service department since i left. All installation os done by subcontractors from Conn who carry minimal liability in Conn only. I was responsible for fixing the damages, and repairing the jobs after payment was received from customers.

If you are getting this you need to sue. They will talk a mile a minute and promis you the moon but in actuality they have never employed a licensed plumber. ALL THEIR SUBCONTRACTORS ARE CARPENTERS AND CAN BARELEY SWEAT A PIPE.

GOOD LUCK. CONTACT A LAWYER

View more comments (1)

Very pleased with our new bathroom as well as our experience with the company.

Bath Planet - Very pleased with our new bathroom as well as our experience with the company.
We had a great experience with Bath Planet. Saw them at a home show and were impressed with how friendly and professional the people in the booth were. The sales person was on time, polite and friendly and helped us pick out the walls and accessories. It took a couple of weeks for the installation to be scheduled but they had warned us that it would. The installation was very smooth the installers were professional, polite and friendly. They covered up our floors and did a really great job of cleaning up after they were done. Best of all the bathroom is GORGEOUS! We are really thrilled with how it came out. They spent a lot of time making sure that everything was just so and we could not be happier. We were pleasantly surprised by how solid and sturdy everything is. All the edges are nicely finished and it looks like it cost a lot more than it did. We got a couple of bids and Bath Planet was not the least expensive but it was worth it IMO. It is super easy to clean too. On a scale of 1-10 we'd give this experience a 10 and will be having them back when we are ready to do our guest bathroom. Very high quality product and professional installation.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1201104

Wow, only positive review we have found for this company. State after state there are complaints.

Glad to see they treated at least one customer right.

Anonymous
#1208146
@PissedConsumer1201104

Looks like a fake review put in by one of the franchise owners. Reads just like one of Bath Planets advertisements or like a review writen by someone who was promissed a discount if they submit a "possitive" review.

View more comments (1)
Testimonial

Bath Planet is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#797298 Review #797298 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California
Reason of review
Happy with the whole experience and the product.
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Estimate Review from Saint Paul, Minnesota

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concern regarding not receiving an itemized quote. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve your issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#797231 Review #797231 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I had a estimate don't and after he got done he sat me down and just gave me a number. I asked how this was itemized and if I could get a itemized wore and he just said "they don't do that" thought that was sketchy.

Then he did what I have read other people had happen and he lowered the price a few times. And he was pretty pushy. My shower is in rough shape but he kept pushing that at me.

He was the first person I had come out cause I saw the company at the RV show. Not sure of there work but there sales techniques are very pushy.

Featured
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bad caulking in my bathroom

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#783335 Review #783335 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom
Bath Planet - Bad caulking in my bathroom

There has to be a better way to join the seams this caulking is terrible.everyone that sees my bathroom can't believe someone would leave it like this. They person that installed it has been here twice and it hasn't changed.it is so heartbreaking to realize that you were deceived by these people.

I told a friend of mine about them and she also got hers done the caulking is worse than mine I can't believe this has happened my husband passed on 2years ago and this was the first project that I did on my own and it turned out terrible. I think if I would have had any idea this was how it would have turned I would not have done it.

1 comment
Maleyah
#1122275

we had an identical lousy caulk job by Robert c. whitmer of whitmer enterprises who was the subcontractor for bath planet/your remodeling guys/the garage guys of York, pa!

mr. whitmer came back to install the shower doors that he & his assistant had accidentally smash in our furnace room during the installation. mr. whitmer had accused me of saying negative comments about him to bath planet.

they were justified! he's a disgusting person, & so are the folks from bath planet!

40 upset customers out of 25,000+ completed in 2015- .0016%

While no company can make EVERYONE happy, BathPlanet does a great job making 98.4% customers happy. (Take 40 complaints and divide that by 25,000 jobs completed in 2015 alone to get .0016%for total of upset customers/competitors fake complaints) Please visit GuildQuality.com to see customer reviews taken by a neutral, 3rd party company for honest reviews, as opposed to sites that allow competitors to post bogus complaints. For any real customers that have posted on here, please contact BathPlanet.com and share your concern with us, and we will be happy to address your concerns. Also, please note that out of 230+ locations, the complaints you see here, may not represent your local dealer.
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#1227859

Bath Planet bribes their customers with a $200 credit for reviews which "they will determine which reviews are published". A bit like the fox guarding the hen house.

Do not believe this self advertising. Company is a scam and they do sub standard work with cheap materials for over inflated prices. They do not deliver on their salesmen promise of how the demo and install goes-all to make a buck.

Snake oil salesmen who want you to believe the reviews where they control content. Total garbage.

Anonymous
#1201108

Wow, if a company has so many complaints one would think that if you would like to stay in business for more than a few years resolving the issues would be a priority. Theses complaints are nationwide! Have decided not to gamble with your company!

Anonymous
#1118886

Or, if your company was confident in your product and installation quality, show up for your sales calls with a customer list of all 25,000 jobs you installed in 2015 and allow your potential customers to call one of them and ask for feedback. I used Bath Fitter and that was exactly what our sales rep did.

We talked to a neighbor on our own street that had used that company 9 years earlier and they were elated to tell us how great Bath Fitter was.

Plus no seams in the wall seems to make more sense since it is the seams that are so hard to clean and get moldy. I had Bath Planet out as well and even though their price was lower by $300 I still chose Bath Fitter because those seams are too hard to clean when they are just caulked like Bath Planet does.

Anonymous
#1119095
@PissedConsumer1118886

BathPlanet actually offers customers to speak to all previous customers. Every previous customer is called by Guild Quality, a neutral, third party company that takes a survey of each customers input after every install.

Unlike BathFitter who ONLY makes their happy customers available to speak to.

BathPlanet also offers the seamless wall that BF offers, but most customers choose to go with the 3 piece surround so they can have something other than white or tan as options.

Comparing the systems side by side, the one piece wall actually has MORE silicone than the 3 piece, as the one piece has multiple trim pieces added and siliconed.

As a testament to these statements, there's a reason why BathPlanet carries the Good Housekeeping Seal and no other company has been able to earn it.

We are glad you are happy with your purchase, but please have facts to back up your statements.

View more comments (3)
Testimonial

Bath Planet is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#777151 Review #777151 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Product line
Reason of review
Good customer service
Bath Planet's reply to:

Poor quality workers

We started this job at the beginning of May 2015 and finished on May 7th.
Thank you for contacting Bath Planet regarding your concerns. We apologize for the issue with the glass on your shower door. Our dealer has indicated that they ordered a new door and offered compensation for the time it took to order and ship a new one. We hope you are 100% satisfied.
ID
#776802 Review #776802 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Whole process
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

The 2-3 day job took about 7 weeks to complete. They re-plumbed the shower and closed up the wall without doing a leak check. It leaked they had to open up the wall and repair it and repair the wall again. (they did a nice job on the wall in the closet).

They installed the shower glass backwards the non streak coating belonged on the inside not the outside as it was installed another week to repair that. The foot rest was not fastened properly and had to be redone, another week.

A few months later someone from the company called to ask about the install we told her what we said here, we were told someone would contact us they have not. So beware look to your local contractors and stay away from these guys poor quality work and way overpriced for what they did.

J.S. from Indio, CA

2 comments
Anonymous
#1122541

I have not heard a word from Bath Planet,I am not surprised.

Anonymous
#1102712

Blame Obama. Trump 2016.

View more comments (1)
Resolved
Bath Planet's reply to:

Resolved: Sales rep

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to express your concerns. We apologize that we weren't able to convey the value of our product to justify the price quote you received. We advise all of our Dealers to instruct their Design Consultants to provide customers with a written quote to the penny. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#744302 Review #744302 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

First found this company on a promotion on living social. When we called to inquire about the promotion we were told that we couldn't have any answers or information about the product or service unless we had a consultation where a person would look at our bathroom and give us a quote...

well long story short right away i new the product wasn't for me when the man came, however he seemed friendly and was willing to hear him out. After a two hour "consolation" that turned into a presentation nothing to do with our bathroom... my fiancé and I realized we were suckers... we weren't getting a consultation on our bathroom rather a scam.

By the end of the night the man quoted us at almost 18 grand for just a shower! Mind you that was plastic not even trial or anything to brag about. After he was told this isn't for us he lowered the price, multiple times. We still patiently told him know that this was not what we thought we were sitting down for.

We did not realize we would have to make a decision that night to get that price... we had only begun or bathroom remodel options and we were not ready to do this just yet. He continued to pressure us and make us feel somewhat *** for not taking his offer. After kindly telling him know multiple times he then began to ask my fiancé and ignoring me as if my fiancé would say something different and maybe he could change his mind.

... hello no is no, at that point I started to get aggravated and told him that we were not doing this it was not a option. He continued to try and pressure us... I replied with you are pressuring us and I am asking you to leave now...

Sorry I had to kick the guy out however he was arrogant and a typical sales guy... wish i new what we were getting into before we invited him into our home...

Hope this is helpful for anyone thinking about checking this company out.. and after reading other reviews im happy with our choice due to their lack there of customer satisfaction.

6 comments
Anonymous
#1117489

I just got a estimate today done and he did the same thing to me. Your not the only people this has happened to.

Was really pissed how he tried to say "you will save this much if you accept not" then you say no and he drops the price a little more and says the same.

You're rift if I called and just said a number they would probably do it. Hated the same day decision when they were the only person I have ever talked to.

Anonymous
#1107832

Did he get your wife's number before or after you kicked him out?

Anonymous
#1106026

Sounds like the sales guy almost closed your fiancé before you had a chance to put a ring on it. #crybaby

Anonymous
#1076368

You recieved an education and comparison of all the different bath products on the market. As for the price drops, if you were a serious buyer, you would have negotiated your best price and made your decision that evening.

If you didn't like the product you could told the salesman up front and saved you both a great deal of time and frustration. Time is money and unfortunately everyone lost in this example.

Anonymous
#1075119

Thanks, they lure you with a 1k discount win as the home show. No thanks I rather use a regular contractor or bath fitter.

Anonymous
#1073257

Thanks for your comments. I think though you have taken the burden of dealing with this company, you are helping numerous others who may have encountered the same unpleasant experience if you did not have your comments posted.

View more comments (5)
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bathplanet takes every short cut!

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. We have spoken with this particular dealer and they let us know that they have replaced the bathtub with a new one and the customer is now happy.
ID
#739151 Review #739151 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Being lied to
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$20000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Nothing was done up to code: not plumbing supplies and drain; not insulation; not framing; NOTHING! It's been 2 months now and they're not done yet, they remove your tub then use your lack of a bathroom to leverage your compliance.

No permit was pulled. They put no support behind drywall. They left a foot of unsupported drywall behind my walls. They promised to frame if necessary.

I only found this when they removed the walls they allready installed for the inspector. They wanted to cut floor joists out of my floor.

They broke stuff, and so much more. WORST PEOPLE I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH!

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Remodeling Review from Monahans, Texas

We appreciate your business. Thank you for writing us and letting customers know about our products and our Good Housekeeping warranty.
ID
#736801 Review #736801 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality

Come on man, Bath Planet is backed by Good House Keeping...they give you a two year money back warranty...its acrylic blended with abs (same material you make football helmets out of) so it's extremely durable ...it's 100% non-porous, so mold doesn't have anything to attach to and grow in, hard water can't dull it, and soap *** doesn't get imbedded in it. Super simple to clean.

With a lifetime warranty to never chip, fad, peal, or crack...not including the life time labor warranty that comes with it, saying if anything does happen, you won't be charged to come fix it.

Also, everything Bath Planet manufacturers is American Made!! Pretty sure you're trolling for a less qualified company.

Bath Planet's reply to:

1 day remodeling joke

Thank you for contacting us regarding this issue with your installation being scheduled two months after you signed the contract. We typically have a 4-6 week turnaround from ordering the product, to receiving it, and then scheduling the install. Every individual bath system we sell across the country is custom made, which is why we let each customer know about the 4-6 week turnaround. We apologize for not being about to install the job sooner.
ID
#720274 Review #720274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • I like the shower enclosure
Cons
  • Did not get what we paid for
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
My doors fixed

I gave bath plate 1/2 of my payment on 4/22/2015 and they started work around the 27th of June. I will admit that I had company June 14 thru 17 and I did not want the bathroom torn up while they were here.

The sales person I had, had left the company by the time they started work but she had taken a Video of what I wanted. The contract was not very specific, so instead of asking me what I really wanted they just ordered whatever. By the time they had finished, around September 5th I got most of what I had ordered. The only exception was the shower door.

This one does not have the coating on it that the sales rep had sold me and is not the same looking as the one I ordered. I was willing to accept this one but after a few days of use the towel bar broke (September 22).

It has yet to be fixed and this is October 20th. If I had it to do again I would run not walk away from this company!

3 comments
Anonymous
#1148643

This company is a wife and husband team that pretend that they're a huge company they are liars and thieves and don't pay their subcontractors

Anonymous
#1108596

I see so many bad reviews for all the Bath companies that I give up about thinking about changing my bath. Thank you all for your reviews.

Anonymous
#1066321

Bath planet is to come today to repair the towel bar on the shower door. It has been broken since September 21 or 22. It was so long ago I can remember for sure.

View more comments (2)
Bath Planet's reply to:

Rude and patronizing sales rep and waste of time

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#717600 Review #717600 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Sales person
Reason of review
High pressure sales tactic

I usually let my wife handle any expense dealing with the home. Thank goodness i had some downtime to sit in on the conversation.

He quoted us $6600 to place plastic shower lining in our bathroom. When my wife hesitated, he kept dropping the price to $3600. I wondered how he can drop the price almost 50% without consulting his bosses. Well when I said no and asked him to leave, he said the offer would be no good after he leaves the house.

Not that I will call him, but I bet if we called he would come running. This company is a scam and reminds me of the penny stock firms of the 80's. Plastic covering that is more than tile estimates . .

.

I bet out of the $3600 at least $2000 is the margin after parts and labor. After reading the reviews, I would recommend people stay away from this company.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling Review from Denison, Texas

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concern. Bath Planet dealers have exclusive territories that we have to stay in and sometimes if a customer is a few hours outside of that territory we don't have the manpower to cover it. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#713470 Review #713470 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I met representatives of bath planet at our local trade show. I told them my kids wanted to do a shower remodel.

I asked where they would go to and was told the whole state of Texas. Set up an appointment.

It was later canceled by bath planet because it was out of their jurisdiction. They live in Katy.

Bath Planet's reply to:

BathPlanet of Inland Empire - BAD EXPERIENCE!!

Thank you for contacting Bath Planet regarding this issue. We have reached out to our dealer and they let us know that, as requested by the customer, we installed both bathrooms in the same week. We notified him that one bathroom had a custom order door that would take 3-5 working days once we were able to take final measurements. Regarding the issue with the shower pan flexing. After an inspection by the owner we noted that there was a defect. We ordered a new pan and installed all new materials to insure the customer would have lifetime warranty on all the products. We apologize for the delay and hope the customer is 100% satisfied.
ID
#712987 Review #712987 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$6300
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Update by user Dec 28, 2015

At our insistence, BathPlanet inspected the shower conversion and admitted the pan and two shelves were not right. After a three month ordeal, the defective installation was ripped out and a new pan and walls/shelves were installed correctly. BathPlanet charged us a high price for a hassle-free installation that they failed to deliver.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2015

We contracted with BathPlanet of Inland Empire to have one shower stall replaced and one bathtub converted to a shower.

We were repeatedly promised to never be without at least one functional shower. This was untrue. Both showers were unfinished for a four-day period. The effort and expense of making one of the unfinished showers usable was left up to us at the last minute on a Friday night.

The promised two-day installation ended up taking five days.

The bathtub conversion pan flexes and creaks when stepped on by a person weighing less than 150 pounds.

BathPlanet's website advertises a "guarantee" of communication. Most of our calls were ignored. The calls that were returned were several days late.

Jennifer, at BathPlanet corporate, was notified of our complaints via a detailed, certified letter.

When told of our complaints, two BathPlanet employees promised to "make things right", as guaranteed on their company website. This never happened.

The final cost of $16,300.00 was far too high for all the broken promises, false guarantees, and product concerns we have had to endure.

1 comment
Anonymous
#1073649

Thats' one expensive shower! Being a contractor I can tell you most remodles take much longer then 5 days. I'm not sure what your whining about other then a classic case of cognitive dissonance.