Bath Planet - Communication and Cleanliness is key

I love both my new showers. The no spot glass shower doors are awesome. My installer kept me advised of the step by step progress. He laid drop cloths down through the house. My neighbors came over to see my new bathrooms and were highly impressed.
View full review
Testimonial

Bath Planet is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#955933 Review #955933 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Reason of review
Good quality
Resolved
Bath Planet's reply to:

Resolved: Bath Planet - Sales, ordering parts, production management issues

We are happy to hear that our dealer resolved this complaint and that you are now 100% happy. Thank you for your business, we appreciate it, and apologize for the issue.
ID
#934910 Review #934910 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Pros
  • Variety of walls to choose from for shower
  • Product line
  • I like the shower enclosure
Cons
  • Not returning several phone calls
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$78
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Update by user Nov 14, 2016

I called the owner of the company and we have worked things out.

He was not aware that I had spoken to his production manager, that the plumbing had been set up for an offset vanity basin or that I had gone out and purchased the vent cover.

It appears that the issue that prolonged resolution was an issue of internal communications.

I have also requested that this review be removed from this website.

Update by user Nov 01, 2016

10/20/16 I filed a complaint with the BBB. I have not heard back from the company yet to resolve the issue of the vanity top.I had ordered the vanity top to be offset but what was delivered was centered.

The sales person then told me that the offset order was not possible first due to the base cabinet and then the company that made the vanity top could not offset the bowl to fit the cabinet, but when I checked myself with the company that makes the vanity top I was told it was possible and would fit the base. I was angry because I felt I was lied to. The production manager called then and told me the company was NOT going to replace the vanity top because the contract did not state the bowl was to be offset. I called the owner who told me that it would cost $250 alone to get a plumber back in to install a new vanity top and that wasn't chump change.

I told him I paid $12,000. for this job and then he said he would call me when he got the BBB complaint. Apparently, because the salesman did not write the word "offset" on the order it's my fault that I didn't notice it; however, the description of the vanity top states only " rectangular", raised edge and the color. So from that limited information how is it that the depth was correctly 6 3/4 " rather than some other depth?

There were other depth choices but the depth choice was not noted on the contract. In addition, the installer wasted 1/2 day to remove the bathroom floor to the sub floor as I was told by the salesman was necessary in order to install the vanity base so I insisted upon it.. The contract clearly states the demo of 25 square feet and install of new floor was to be 19 square feet which implies the base cabinet was to be installed to the sub floor or I was losing 6 square feet of flooring. The installer tried to tell me it wasn't necessary but I believed the salesman who told me it was necessary over the installer until other things turned out to be wrong.

Now I see how the salesman mislead me. I accepted the wrong shower head, the shower rings instead of towel ring, the shower hook instead of the door hook, Glacier Bay toilet rather than the American Standard toilet and the fact that the medicine cabinet promised was not ordered because it was not written on the contract and i had to quickly find a medicine cabinet to fill the hole in the wall. The vanity base was supposed to be plywood but I accepted the particle board unit since it was high quality and did not have the kind of fumes that make me sick. The salesman told me if I didn't accept his apology and accept the wrong orders or he would be fired.

I almost let it all go, but then I began to think about paying $12,000. and getting so many wrong orders. Also, why would a salesman get fired for just 1 wrong order? The centered vanity top looks so obviously wrong and I am forced to stand to the side and twist my body to use it due to it's proximity to the bathroom door.

Since I filed the BBB complaint I purchased my own vent cover so the company would not continue to try to fit a floor register in the wall space. I have to assume the decorative piece missing from the bathtub faucet handle has not come in yet.

I know the company still has 3 more days to respond to the BBB complaint. I had expected a call back when the complaint was received by the company but no call has been received nor a message on my voicemail.

Update by user Oct 22, 2016

I finally spoke to someone in the company who was willing to listen to me and found out there had been some misunderstanding. Someone at the company thought I was rejecting a piece that was ordered when in fact the piece did not fit.

I was angry because I felt I was not being heard. Now we are working to resolve the issues.

Original review posted by user Oct 11, 2016

Salesman:He told me that the job would start in 3-4 weeks and would take 3 days. (The guy that did the 2nd measure came out 3 weeks later and told me it would actually be 4-6 weeks from that day before the job would start and it would take 5 days). I called the production manager at week 6 and he told me jobs usually start in

6-8 weeks from the 2nd measure. When the job finally started after 12 weeks from the sales appt. I found out that sales forgot to order 1 major piece and ordered 2 major and 2 small pieces wrong. I am still waiting for 2 wrong parts. The salesman also told me the floor would be removed down to the subfloor and the bathroom sink base would be installed on the subfloor. That didn't happen. Sales also told me I would not be without a toilet for more than 3-8 hours. The installer was not told that. 2 of the pieces that were wrong had to be installed as it would have taken another 6-8 weeks to order the correct pieces. The sink was to be off set and came centered so now it does not match up with the medicine cabinet. I am asking for that piece to be reordered correctly.

Production manager: Scheduled the installer to do all the work alone, then failed to set up the appt. for the plumber to come out day 1. Then the production manager sent the installer out to start a new job before my job was finished. I called on day 7 and informed him that the work on my job needed to be finished. Now the installer is running from the other job to mine trying to get mine finished. A 5 day install has turned into 8 days so far and is still incomplete. Since the production manager schedules the installers he now has 2 jobs that I know of that are not being handled right.

I have only 1 bathroom and have now been without a bath or shower for 8 days. I have had to cancel medical appts. to accommodate the

the issues that have come up.

I still have to meet with the sales person again to take care of the reorders.

Installer: He was great. He did the best he could under the circumstances and stayed as late as he could each day he came out.

He made sure I had a toilet every night and corrected what he could

when he could. What has been done so far looks great. He was polite, patient and clean.

***Warning: Read your contract carefully and pay attention to details. Get every last detail in writing at the sales meeting. It may save you some headaches later.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Shower enclosure

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#924211 Review #924211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Cons
  • Price quote
  • Poor quality
Reason of review
Bad quality

We paid almost $5000 for a shower enclosure from Bath Planet. Ridiculous price "shame on us" We would have done better buying a shower enclosure at Depot for less then half the price.

Within the first year 1/2 ( poor caulking, Door handles stripped and became loose, under liner plastic fell off and needed to be replaced, flooring became soft where you can feel the bottom of the floor where they overlaid the shower cover.....today it still leaks after a shower water runs out to floor. Magnet that closes door stripped of coating, now it just bare metal...We had 2 service calls months after installations and we finally gave up. Poor quaity, poor design, poor workmenship, poor customer service. With a $75 charge for service calls we would have spend a small fortune repairing all theses issues.

Today trying to fiqure out how to fix the loose shower door handle.... to avoid a $75.00 service call to replace a small screw of which they can't even tell us what screw to buy or type of tool we need to repair it.

Consumer be aware.

Bath Planet's reply to:

STAY AWAY FROM ANYBODY SELLING ARCRYLIC BATHLINERS WITH BATH PLANET AT THE TOP OF THAT LIST

Our Central Arizona dealer has repeatedly tried to contact Mr. Everett via the phone number provided to try and understand and resolve the issues in this complaint. We apologize to Mr. Everett, but unfortunately neither his name, email, or phone number is in our Central Arizona dealer's database so we don't believe that Mr. Everett even contracted with us. If he used a different name or phone number please call our Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen so we can make you 100% satisfied.
ID
#916339 Review #916339 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Cons
  • Poor quality
  • Will not stand behind installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Exactly one year ago, I had two bathrooms remodeled using a Bath Planet subcontractor representing their company. Several weeks ago, my wife noticed our laminate flooring on the exterior wall of the remodeled shower looking funny. I pressed my foot against it and "SQUISH".

The floor clearly had standing water under it and appears to have been getting worse over time. I start by calling the Bath Planet installer only to find they were out of business - BIG SURPRISE.

I call another general contractor to come identify the leak and discover the *** plumbing performed had been leaking inside of my wall for nearly a year creating a serious mold issue, ruining my laminate flooring, and discovering the Bath Planet *** installers used plain silicone to attach the acrylic garbage liner to my old tile and it was slowly coming loose to the point my new general contractor showed me strips he literally pulled off the wall due to degradation.

So, I've now paid twice to have a shower remodeled in one year with the second time being done with beautiful tile and accents for less than I paid for a cheap *** product sold as the next "whiz-bang" solution to your bathroom remodel problem. More importantly, I have a second bathroom which I will not let my family use due to fear it will fall apart.

Long story short, rather just remodeling a shower after paying twice I could have remodeled my entire bathroom.

Bath Planet DOES NOT stand behind anything other than their cheap acrylic liners which simply don't hold up, gather mold, and honestly look CHEAP after being installed.

Save a bit more money, find a real company that stands behind their work, and fix your bathroom with TILE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Resolved
Bath Planet's reply to:

Resolved: Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED

We appreciate you writing a second post letting us at Bath Planet Corporate know that Bath Planet of Richmond had resolved your concerns. We are happy to hear that you are more than satisfied.
ID
#907194 Review #907194 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Cons
  • Being lied to
Reason of review
PRICING, DEFECTIVE MATERIAL, BAD QUALITY
Loss
$9068
Preferred solution
THEY CAN EMAIL ME. DON'T CALL. WE WILL PROCEED FROM THERE.
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED
Bath Planet - BATHPLANET aka AAPCO aka ESHIELD VA-MY TESTIMONY. LETS GET STARTED

Update by user Sep 20, 2016

Still waiting for a response from PC to tell me why my letter did not meet the requirements. No response from e-mail or phone call thus far. I will try to keep an update until this post is removed.

Regards

Update by user Sep 19, 2016

I am submitting an update concerning the removal of this post. I have sent a notarized letter stating; what I thought was the required information for removal but, PC says that my letter does not meet the requirements.

I am confused. At the present time I am awaiting their response.

I have called (262)674-6446 this morning for advise on what information I provided that is incorrect, or what I need to provide to put an end to this post. Regards

Update by user Sep 15, 2016

I am no longer pissed. I am pleased with the corrections thus far.

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

The picture of the drain is not the updated drain which was replaced.

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

I am also going to request removal of my post. Thanks again!

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

Thank you, Mr. J.S for being so diligent resolving my concerns. I have submitted photo's for future customers to see the improvements.

Original review posted by user Aug 25, 2016

LET ME BEGIN BY SAYING I HAVE BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE HOSPITAL FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS THUS THE LONG DELAY MAKING A COMPLAINT. THE WORK WAS DONE IN AUGUST OF 2013.

I CALLED TO HAVE MY BATHROOM DONE BECAUSE MY TOILET TANK WAS LEAKING MAKING THE TOILET START SINKING. I DECIDED SINCE THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACE THE SUB-FLOOR I WOULD GET THEM TO REPAIR OTHER ISSUES IN MY SMALL BATHROOM. GRANTED THE BATHROOM WAS A DISASTER. ANY TYPE OF REPAIRS MADE IT LOOK BETTER.

I ALSO HAD THEM INSTALL A WINDOW. I LOVE HOW IT BRIGHTENED THE ROOM. THERE WERE LOTS OF RED FLAGS, BUT I IGNORED THEM. I KNEW BETTER.

IT STARTED WITH THE ROTTEN WOOD WINDOW FRAME. I COMPLAINED SO IT WAS REPLACED BY A FRAME CUT FROM CHEAP WOOD. THE WOOD STARTED SPLITTING I COMPLAINED. IT WAS AGAIN REPLACED WITH CHEAP WOOD THAT IS SPLITTING.

SO THEY CAME AND CAULKED THE CRACKS AND OTHER AREAS THAT HAVE GAPS. THEN THE VINYL FLOORING STARTED BLOWING UP LIKE A BALOON AROUND THE VENT BECAUSE NO ADHESIVE WAS APPLIED. THEY CAME AND ADDED IT. THE VENT COVER IS RUSTING.

THE SHOWER DRAIN IS RUSTING. WHAT YOU SEE IS THE REPLACEMENT FOR THE ORIGINAL ONE. I PRICED IT AT LOWES FOR LESS THAN $2.OO. I HAD A SEAT AND A BAR ADDED TO MY WALK-IN SHOWER BECAUSE I HAVE MS.

THE FIRST TIME I SAT ON THE SEAT I SLID OFF. THANK GOD THE BAR WAS THERE BECAUSE, I WAS SLIPPING ON THE SHOWER FLOOR THEY INSTALLED. WHEN I TOLD THE MANAGER HE SAID THE SEAT WAS SLANTED SO THE WATER COULD RUNOFF, AND I SHOULD PUT DOWN A MAT SO I WOULD NOT SLIP AGAIN. MY DUMB SELF PAID THEM OVER $9000.00 FOR CHEAP MATERIAL AND LOW-GRADE WORK.

I LOOKED UP THE MATERIAL PRICES AT LOEWS. I DON'T THINK THE MATERIAL AND PARTS THEY INSTALLED WERE MORE THAN $2OOO.OO IF THAT. I DON'T KNOW WHERE THE A+ BBB RATING CAME FROM OR THE WONDERFUL TESTIMONIES. I THINK IT WAS FELLOW EMPLOYEES AND RELATIVES.

THEY WILL LEARN THAT THEY PICKED THE WRONG ONE TO PULL THIS MESS ON.I AM RETIRED NOW, I HAVE NOTHING BUT TIME ON MY HANDS. I PLAN TO CONTACT HOME ADVISERS, ANGIES LIST,BBB, AARP AND, SIT ON THE BENCH IN FRONT OF THEIR BOOTH IN THE MALL SO I CAN GIVE MY TESTIMONY AND SHARE PHOTOS. AFTER SEEING THE PHOTOS DPOR SUGGESTED CIVIL COURT. AAPCO HAS 2 BOOTHS AT THE COUNTY FAIR STARTING TOMORROW.

I THINK I'LL GIVE MY TESTIMONY THERE AND SHARE PHOTOS. OUR LOCAL NEWS ALSO LIKES TO WARN OTHERS ABOUT COMPANIES SUCH AS THIS. FOR THE PRICE I SUPPLIED MY OWN TOILET AND SINK. ALSO, THERE WAS NO PAINT JOB.

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO OF THE DRAIN AND WINDOW FRAME. I HAVE MORE PHOTOS. I FORGOT TO MENTION THE CAULKING IN THE SHOWER. ALTHOUGH EVERYONE WAS VERY NICE; I WOULD NOT TRUST THEM WORTH A DARN.

THE SALESMAN WAS EXCEPTIONAL AT WHAT HE DOES I'LL GIVE HIM THAT.

THEY MESSED WITH THE WRONG ONE THIS TIME. I AM FURIOUS!

5 comments
Ishaq
#1215018

UPDATE..

My notarized letter was not accepted by PC. I was advised that it did not meet the needed requirements.

I called (262) 674-6446 for assistance because I thought I provided all the requested information.

Because I am confused, I am waiting for the return call so I can make whatever corrections are needed for the prompt removal of this post. Regards

Anonymous
#1213869

On 9/10/16 P C received my notarized letter requesting complete removal of this post by certified, return receipt mail. Until the request is fulfilled, I am again stating that my post is no longer valid or relevant.

Anonymous
#1211665

On 9/8/16 I submitted the required documents to have this post removed. My issues with this branch of Bath Planet are resolved at this time.

My complaint against this company is no longer valid or relevant.

Anonymous
#1205435

Comparing a product not purchased from lowes to what you're whining about is like comparing a used Toyota Camry to a New Lexus. Use what's left of your brain to answer jeopardy questions before you report people to AARP.

LOL'! Get a life you dimwit.

Anonymous
#1206390
@PissedConsumer1205435

Thank you for saying I should use what's left of my brain. I appreciate that, I thought it was all gone....What's Jeopardy???

Oh yeah, I don't want to use the rest of my brain to figure it out. Again, thank you for taking the time to think so highly of me...

From a Jaguar driver,

Ms. Dimwit (smooches)

p.s Bath Planet and I are resolving our issues.

What about yours? Stay tuned.

View more comments (4)

Bath Planet can install in any bathroom

We used Bath Planet for 2 homes. One built in the 40's, and a farm house listed on the Historical Farm Records, which my great grandfather staked in the run, both 20th century bathrooms and in bad shape. We are so proud of the work that Bath Planet did on both bathrooms and would highly recommend them to anyone thinking of remodeling a bathroom.
View full review
Testimonial

Bath Planet is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#955936 Review #955936 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Reason of review
Good quality
Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling Review from Simi Valley, California

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your concerns regarding the lack of communication from our dealer. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best customer service in the bath remodeling industry and we apologize that this wasn't your experience. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Unfortunately, your review came to us as “anonymous” without any of your contact information so we are unable to contact you to remedy this situation. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#877372 Review #877372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Product mix up, failure to call back after work completed by management. Very expensive for what you get. Workers worked hard, not their fault.

Bath Planet's reply to:

Bath Planet - Worst business I have ever delt with

Thank you for writing Bath Planet to let us know about your installation concerns. Our dealers pride themselves on providing the best products and customer service in the bath remodeling industry. Our goal is to resolve the issue so you are 100% satisfied. Please call our Corporate Office at 800-963-8827 and ask for Jenny Carstensen for further assistance.
ID
#857172 Review #857172 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bath Planet Bathroom Remodeling
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1000

they did not do what they were supposed to do. they added a shower that was smaller then my existing tub removed my sink and left a big gap where the sink was and the tub was at.

they added a panel that was much taller then the existing tile. my mirror now is over a 5:7 wall. if you are less then 6 feet, you are out of luck. they were supposed to remove the existing tile.

nope they did not do that either.

they forged my spouse's signature to get me approved for a loan. now here we are 6 month after they started the project and the project is still not completed. never, never , so business with these people!

please stay far away from them. the worst contractors ever!